Lorrie Boyer
2023 Farm Broadcaster of the Year

Since 1969, NAFB has been recognizing distinguished broadcasters with the Farm Broadcaster of the Year award. It is given to individuals who have proven their abilities in broadcasting, have shown true commitment to the industry through their actions and their promotional efforts, and have shown leadership in the industry and within their communities. It is perhaps the most coveted award in our industry.

Thank you to Syngenta for their long-term sponsorship of the award.




Farm Broadcaster of the Year Recipients

2023 Lorrie Boyer, KSIR Radio, Fort Morgan, CO
2022 Rita Frazer, RFD Radio Network®, Bloomington IL
2021 Mark Oppold, Mark V Media Group, Camdenton, MO
2020 Brian Winnekins, WRDN Radio, Durand, WI
2019 Clinton Griffiths, Farm Journal Broadcasting, South Bend, IN
2018 Don Molino, Voice of Louisiana Agriculture Radio Network, Baton Rouge, LA
2017 Tom Steever, Brownfield Ag News, Jefferson City, MO
2016 Susan Littelfield, KRVN Rural Radio Network, Surprise, NE
2015 Gary Truitt, Hoosier Ag Today, Zionville, In
2014 Ken Anderson, Brownfield Ag News, Lincoln, NE
2013 Pam Jahnke, WOZN/Q106, Milwaukee, WI
2012 Al Gustin, KBMR/KXMR Radio, Bismark, ND
2011 Greg Akagi, WIWB Radio/Kansas Agriculture Network, Topeka, KS
2010 Jeff Nalley, Cromwell Ag Radio Network, Utica, KY
2009 Ken Root, WHO Radio, Des Moines, IA
2008 Michelle Rook, WNAX Radio, Yankton, SD
2007 Mike Hergert, Red River Farm Network, Grand Forks, ND
2006 Stewart Doan, Yancey Ag Network, Little Rock, AR
2005 Lynn Ketelsen, Linder Farm Network, Owatonna, MN
2004 Don Wick, Red River Farm Network, Grand Forks, ND
2003 Orion Samuelson, WGN, Chicago, IL
2002 Bob Bosold, WAXX/WAYY, Eau Clarie, WI
2001 Max Armstrong, WGN Radio/Tribune Radio Networks, Chicago, IL
2000 Rick Haines, Northern Ag Network, Billings, MT
1999 Colleen Callahan, WMBD, Peoria, IL
1998 Gary Wergin, WHO, Des Moines, IA
1997 Cyndi Young, WTAX/WVAX, Springfield, IL
1996 Joe Cornely, WFRD, Columbus, OH
1995 Mike Adams, WLDS, Jacksonville, IL
1994 Kathy Patton, Kansas Ag Network/WIBW, Topeka, KS
1993 Ron Hays, Oklahoma Agrinet, Oklahoma City, OK
1992 Roddy Peeples, VSA Radio Network, San Angelo, TX
1991 Art Sechrest, WJBC, Bloomington, IL
1990 Jack Crowner, Farm Service Network, Louisville, KY
1989 Taylor Brown, Northern Ag Network, Billings, MT
1988 Gary Truitt, Indiana Agribusiness Network, Indianapolis, IN
1987 Bob Ratliff, Progressive Farmer Network, Starkville, MS
1986 Paul Pippert, WIBW, Topeka, KS
1985 Ed Slusarczyk, Ag Radio Network, Utica, NY
1984 Wayne Rothgeb, WKJG-TV, Fort Wayne, IN
1983 Ron Hendren, KGRC, Hannibal, MO
1982 Harry Martin, Rural Radio Network, New Palestine, IN
1981 Earl Sargent, KWFT, Wichita Falls, TX
1980 Horace McQueen, KLTV, Tyler, TX and KTRE, Lufkin, TX
1979 Lee Kline, WHO, Des Moines, IA
1978 Marvin Vines, KAAY, Little Rock, AR
1977 Rich Hull, WIBW, Topeka, KS
1976 Royce Bodiford, KGNC, Amarillo, TX
1975 Ray Wilkinson, WRAL, Raleigh, NC
1974 Wey Simpson, KHQ, Spokane, WA
1973 Verne Strickland, WRAL, Raleigh, NC
1972 Russell Pierson, WKY, Oklahoma City, OK
1971 Keith Kirkpatrick, WHO, Des Moines, IA
1970 Barney Arnold, WHAS, Louisville, KY
1969 George Logan, WIBW, Topeka, KS