Scholarship Program

Since 1977, the NAFB Foundation has provided financial support and educational opportunities in the form of college Scholarships to assist students in pursuit of careers in agricultural communications. More than $370,000 in scholarships has been awarded.

The NAFB Foundation offers $5,000 college scholarships;  the Glenn Kummerow Memorial Scholarship, the George Logan Scholarship, the Orion Samuelson Scholarship (presented by CME Group), and the Grow Smart Scholarship presented by BASF. These scholarships are recognized at NAFB Convention in Kansas City each November and recipients also receive an expense-paid trip to attend the convention as part of the award.

Applicants must be a college Junior, Senior or Graduate student for the Fall 2019 semester and enrolled in or transferring to an agricultural communications curriculum. Strong consideration will be given to candidates with concentration and/or application in broadcast media (this may include internet/online media distribution). Applications for the 2019 scholarships will be available at a later date. Please email for more information.

2017 NAFB Foundation Scholarship Recipients
L to R: Krista Temple, (University of Illinois), Rhiannon Branch
(Murray State University), Hannah Borg (University of Nebraska),
Bobbi Jo Bergum (Purdue University) and Delaney Howell (Texas Tech University)

2016 NAFB Foundation Scholarship Recipients
Back Row (L-R) JD Rosman (Oklahoma State University), Cameron
Jodlowski (Iowa State University), Hanan Southard (University of
Arkansas). Front Row (L-R) Nora Faris (University of Missouri),
Greg Akagi, NAFB Foundation President, Mara McGurl (University
of Georgia, Courtney Wingate (Texas Tech University)

2015 NAFB Foundation Scholarship Recipients
2015 NAFB Foundation Scholarship Recipients
(L-R) Kelsey Litchfield (University of Illinois), Samantha Capoun (Kansas
State University), Bryce Doeschot (University of Nebraska), Hli
Yang (University of Missouri)