

Horizon Award Recipients

Award Background

Recognizing new broadcasters who show promise in the industry is what the Horizon Award is all about. It was established in 1995 and serves to recognize broadcasters with less than five years of membership. It's always an honor to publicly acknowledge these new broadcasters not only for their dedication to the field of broadcast, but also for the new perspectives and passion that they bring and breathe into our organization.

- 2014 Nicole Heslip, Michigan Farm Radio Network, Lansing, Michigan
- 2013 Rob Winters, WOWO, Fort Wayne, Indiana
- 2012 Leslie Smith, KVRN Rural Radio Network, Scottsbluff, Nebraska
- 2011 Julie Root, RFD Illinois Radio Network, Bloomington, Illinois
- 2010 Haylie Shipp, Northern Ag Network, Billings, Montana
- 2009 Meghan Grebner, WMBD/WIRL Radio, Peoria, Illinois
- 2008 Lindsay Hill, ABN Radio, Columbus, Ohio
- 2007 Janelle Brose, Michigan Farm Radio Network, Lansing, Michigan
- 2006 Andy Vance, Buckeye Ag Radio Network, DeGraff, Ohio
- 2005 Justin Mills, Northern Ag Network, Billings, Montana
- 2004 Tom Cassidy Ag Radio Network, Inc., Utica, New York
- 2003 Brian Winnekins WTMB Radio Tomah, Wisconsin
- 2002 Russell Nemetz Northern Ag Network, Billings, Montana
- 2001 Karen Tremble Michigan Farm Radio Network, Lansing, Michigan
- 2000 Suzanne Hubbard KKOW Radio, Pittsburg, Kansas
- 1999 Michelle Rook WNAX Radio, Yankton, South Dakota
- 1998 Lauri Struve KMA Radio, Shenandoah, Iowa
- 1997 Brian Langeland KLGR Radio, Redwood Falls, Minnesota
- 1996 Tom Brand KFEQ/KSJQ Radio, St. Joseph, Missouri
- 1995 Carey Martin WOW Radio, Omaha, Nebraska