

## **Dix Harper Meritorious Service Award**

## **Award Background**

This award is presented to an Allied Industry Council or Management & Sales Council member who has demonstrated exemplary and committed service to NAFB. The award was renamed in 2006 to honor longtime NAFB member, leader, and Historian Dix Harper.

- 2016 Sara Wyant Agri-Pulse Communications, Camdenton, MO
- 2015 Mike Perrine MP Ag Radio, Troy, IL
- 2014 Bill Farmakis J.L. Farmakis, Inc., Wilton, CT
- 2013 Lynn Henderson Agri Marketing, Adel, IA
- 2012 Mike Hansen RFD-TV, Omaha, NE
- 2011 John Vasichek Red River Farm Network, Grand Forks, ND
- 2010 Roger Olson National 4-H, Hudson, WI and Denny Waddle KRVN/Rural Radio Network, Lexington, NE
- 2009 Ron Claussen Ag Media Research, Sioux Falls, SD
- 2008 Mark Vail Eagle Communications, Inc., Parkville, MO
- 2007 Vic McGill Clear Channel/KATZ Advantage, Chicago, IL
- 2006 Lyle Orwig Charleston | Orwig, Hartland, Wisconsin
- 2005 Barry Nelson John Deere, Lenexa, Kansas
- 2004 Gary Crawford USDA, Washington, D.C.
- 2003 Hugh Whaley Osborn & Barr Communications, St. Louis, Missouri
- 2002 Gene Hemphill New Holland North America, New Holland, Pennsylvania
- 2001 Cindy Cunningham National Pork Board, Des Moines, Iowa
- 2000 John Block Food Distributors International, Falls Church, Virginia
- 1999 Larry Quinn USDA Office of Communications, Washington, D.C.
- 1998 Anna Pfrang Retired Former NAFB Staff Member, Topeka, Kansas
- 1997 Ted Haller Katz Radio Group, Minneapolis, Minnesota
- 1996 Jim Evans Retired, University of Illinois, Philo, Illinois
- 1995 Donna French Dunn U.S. Feed Grains Council, Washington, D.C.
- 1994 Vic Powell United States Department of Agriculture, Office of Communications, Washington, D.C.
- 1993 John Harvey John Harvey Communications, Wilmington, Delaware
- 1992 Skip Ragland Ciba-Geigy, Greensboro, North Carolina
- 1991 Charles Harness National Pork Producers Council, Des Moines, Iowa
- 1990 Gene Millard KFEQ, St. Joseph, Missouri
- 1989 Wava Pippert Chair of NAFB Spouses Program; wife of Paul Pippert, WIBW, Topeka, Kansas
- 1988 Charles Might NAFB Sales/Marketing, Racine, Wisconsin
- 1987 Tom Hoy National Rural Electric Cooperative Association, Washington, D.C.
- 1986 Jim Johnson Chief, Radio and TV, U.S. Department of Agriculture
- 1985 George Logan WIBW-TV, Topeka, Kansas and Executive Secretary, NAFB National Office
- 1984 Herb Plambeck Living History Farms, Des Moines, Iowa
- 1983 Glenn Kummerow Katz Radio Group, Chicago, Illinois
- 1982 Fred Masterson Elanco Products Company, Indianapolis, Indiana
- 1981 Ray Kremer NAFB Sales/Marketing, Mt. Dora, Florida
- 1980 Layne Beaty Chief, Radio and TV, U.S. Department of Agriculture
- 1979 Dr. F. L. Whan KWFT, Wichita Falls, Texas

- 1978 Ray C. Senate WIBW, Topeka, Kansas
- 1977 Leo B. Olson DeKalb Ag Research, Inc., DeKalb, Illinois
- 1976 Lee Bullis Allen & Dorward, San Francisco, California
- 1975 Jim Mills National Agricultural Chemicals Association
- 1974 Bill Alford WMT, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
- 1973 Ben Ludy KWFT, Wichita Falls, Texas
- 1972 Charles Dana Bennett Foundation for American Agriculture, Washington, D.C.
- 1971 Jack Towers U.S. Department of Agriculture
- 1970 Ward L. Quaal WGN, Chicago, Illinois
- 1969 Larry Haeg WCCO, Minneapolis, Minnesota
- 1968 Emmett Barker American Feed Manufacturers Association
- 1967 Jack Timmons KWKH, Shreveport, Louisiana
- 1966 Stan Torgerson WMC, Memphis, Tennessee
- 1965 George Biggar WLBK, DeKalb, Illinois
- 1964 Wallace Kadderly Retired Oregon Farm Broadcaster and Chief, Radio & TV, U.S. Department of Agriculture
- 1963 Phil Alampi New Jersey Secretary of Agriculture
- 1962 Milt Bliss Soil Conservation Service, Hartford, Wisconsin
- 1961 Roy Battles The National Grange, Washington, D.C.
- 1960 Frank Mullen and Bill Drips NBC
- 1959 Dix Harper Aubrey, Finlay, Marley & Hodgson, Inc., Chicago, Illinois
- 1958 Louis H. Wilson National Plant Food Institute, Washington, D.C.
- 1957 Charlie Karr Allis Chalmers Company, Milwaukee, Wisconsin