New Honorary NAFB Members

During the recent NAFB Board of Directors Meeting in Washington D.C. the board approved Honorary NAFB Membership to two individuals who have contributed greatly to the business of Farm Broadcasting, and the U.S. agriculture industry. We welcome former U.S. Secretary of Agriculture 1989-1991, Clayton Yuetter and retired President and CEO of Learfield Communications, Clyde Lear.

Clayton Yuetter
Former Secretary, Clayton Yuetter certainly earned this Honorary Membership of NAFB because of his willingness to respond to interviews from farm broadcasters. He fondly remembers his job of communicating as a key part of his leadership years for American agriculture. Broadcasters enjoyed his accessibility and his ability to respond with concise and clear statements for their broadcasts. Larry Quinn, Airing on the Side of Agriculture editor, is proud to say Clayton Yeutter was one of the 13 Secretaries of Agriculture he had the privilege to serve during his 35 years with the USDA Office of Communications.  

Clyde Lear
We welcome a visionary in farm broadcasting into NAFB Honorary Membership, Clyde was a co-founder of Missouri Network, Inc. with Derry Brownfield in 1972. Missouri Network Inc., eventually grew from a small farm network heard over six Missouri radio stations into a diverse media enterprise. Today, the company founded in 1972 covers a 10 state area with Brownfield Ag News, represents over 120 collegiate properties and more as Learfield Communications. Mr. Lear is retired President and CEO of Learfield Communications.