Each year, NAFB members recognize their peers through awards and recognition. Click on any of the categories to open a list of previous honorees.

NAFB Hall of Fame

Established in 1986, the NAFB Hall of Fame has recognized pioneers of the industry such as, our first president, Larry Haeg, from WCCO; Herb Plambeck, who started the farm department at WHO; and Lane Beatty who began his career in Fort Worth, Texas and retired from the U.S. Department of Agriculture. In total, there are 61 inductees into the Hall of Fame. Inductees are known leaders attributed to being powerful advocates in the field of agriculture.

Dix Harper Meritorious Service Award

This award is presented to an Allied Industry Council or Management and Sales Council member who has demonstrated exemplary and committed service to NAFB. The award was renamed in 2006 to honor longtime member, leader and historian Dix Harper. The award was first presented in 1957.

Farm Broadcaster of the Year

Since 1969, NAFB has been recognizing distinguished broadcasters with the Farm Broadcaster of the Year award. It is awarded to individuals who have proven their abilities in broadcasting, have shown true commitment to the industry through their actions and their promotional efforts, and have shown leadership in the industry and within their communities. It is perhaps the most coveted award in our industry.

Horizon Award

Recognizing new broadcasters who show promise in the industry is what the Horizon Award is all about. Established in 1995, the Horizon Award serves to recognize a broadcaster with less than five years of membership. It's always an honor to publicly acknowledge new broadcasters not only for their dedication to the field of broadcast, but also for the new perspectives and passion they bring and breathe into our organization.

The Doan

Named in memory of 1998 NAFB President Stewart Doan, this award recognizes the top radio, television and internet broadcasters. This award is the highest honor for broadcast excellence recognition. The Doan was first presented in 2015.