Airing on the Side of Agriculture

National AG Day Activities In Washington

Max Armstrong (Farm Progress Companies, St. Charles, IL), left, and Lynn Ketelsen (Linder Farm Network, Owatonna, MN) and his wife, Mary, attended and covered the Ag Day dinner at the U.S. Department of Agriculture Patio, where Orion Samuelson (WGN, Chicago, IL) served as the program emcee.

Back At KSIR Microphone

On January 1, Lorrie Boyer returned as Farm Director and Morning Show host to Farm Radio 1010 KSIR (Fort Morgan, CO).  Lorrie may be “new” to her “old” position, but she is no stranger to radio and farm broadcasting. She started her career in 1998 at KLMR (Lamar, CO), and she spent four years there serving as Farm Director and mid-day radio show hos t for the country music station.

Oklahoma Ag Day

These photos were taken on Ag Day (March 26) at the Oklahoma Capitol in Oklahoma City. Sam Knipp interviews 2014 Oklahoma Ag in the Classroom Teacher of the Year Lisa Storm. She teaches 3rd grade at Heritage Elementary in Kingfisher, OK.    

NAFB Foundation Scholarships Available

Three $5,000 scholarships are available to assist students in pursuit of careers in Agricultural Communications: the Glenn Kummerow Memorial Scholarship, the George Logan Scholarship and the Orion Samuelson Scholarship.

In His Own Words

Tom Waldinger, President, Waldinger Creative, shared his thoughts on being the first NAFB Foundation Scholarship winner:

“There was my name. A tiny item among the 84 glossy pages of the January 16, 1978 edition of Broadcasting magazine (“the newsweekly of broadcasting and allied arts”). There it was, nestled in there among the big stories of the day: the Supreme Court agreeing to take on the FCC seven dirty words case, the announced departures of Sally Struthers and Rob Reiner from All in the Family and breaking news about CBS-TV’s planned rollout of its electronic palette and action track systems for the upcoming Super Bowl.

Dain Recognized with Award

MIKE DAIN (First Oklahoma Ag Network, Oklahoma City, OK) left, received the okPORK Distinguished Service Award, February 28, at the Oklahoma Pork Council annual meeting in Oklahoma City.   Basil Werner, 2013 okPORK, President, Board of Directors, presented the award.