GREG AKAGI HONORED…Kansas Farm Bureau recognized members and friends at its 96th Annual Meeting, Dec. 1-2, in Manhattan.

WITHOUT THE NAFB INTERN SCHOLARSHIPS…it would not be possible to give these and others the opportunity to experience farm broadcasting. Gale Cunningham said, “I’ve been blessed with multiple interns, and some that have taken their experience to go on to be fine broadcast advocates for agriculture in their own professional setting.”

A RODEO COWBOY...while a student at Texas A&M University, Charlie Rankin (Emeritus and retired, KURV, Edinburg, TX) proudly displays his 60-year membership certificate from NAFB on his apartment wall in Boerne, TX. In 1947, he won the all-around title at the Texas A&M Rodeo. He was part of the group of college contestants who organized the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association. But, he left the rodeo ring behind after

LOOKING BACK TO MOVE FORWARD…We asked Past President Janet Adkison to look back and offer her reflections as NAFB moves into 2015: 

Quicker than anticipated, 2014 came to a close.  I was warned the year serving as NAFB President would fly by and it certainly did.  As I look back at the year I believe it will always stand out as a highlight--A new home, a new job, and NAFB leadership combined into one bundle of excitement creates a memory that’s going to be hard to match.

2014 Tenure Awards

This we had 102 NAFB members receiving Tenure Year Awards. Click here for a full listing of all 2014 Tenure Awards.

  • 31 Broadcast Council members, including Orion Samuelson, WGN Radio, and Evan Slack, Evan Slack Network, 58 years. And, Keith Kirkpatrick, for 63 years.